Governing Board » Members


Clarissa Burklund, President
303-450-3985 ext. 5004
Joyce Thomas, Vice President
303-450-3985 ext. 5003
Julia Harrell, Secretary
303-450-3985 ext. 5002
Tracy Hernandez-Mealer, Community Board Member
303-450-3985 ext. 5005
Anna Turnbull, Board Member
303-450-3985 ext. 5006
Gary Douglas, Board Member
303-450-3985 ext. 5001 
Felix Loya, Board Member

(For complete information see the Bylaws of the Pinnacle Charter School)

The Pinnacle shall have a Board of Directors consisting of no more than seven members.  No more than five of the seven members will be parents of a pupil enrolled in the Pinnacle.  No more than two of the seven members will be educational or business professionals from the community-at-large (Community Board members).  Board Members will serve no more than two complete three-year terms plus any balance remaining on an unexpired term if the initial appointment was to fill a vacancy.

The Board shall provide governance over the affairs of the school, with management and leadership of the school delegated to the Superintendent and Chief Financial Officer. 

The Board will have 2 open Parent/Guardian seats in October 2018.  Our election will be held on October 18 and 19 and during Fun Fest on October 19th until 7:00 p.m.. The Board is also actively looking for a 2nd Community Member to fill an open seat with a term of 3 years.


 Attend at least 2 meetings, or be an active volunteer with the school prior to an appointment or election to a seat.

  1. Attend regular meetings, which are approximately two hours in duration and held on the 2nd & 3rd Monday of each month.
  2. Utilize all avenues made available for board training – 1 year to complete.
  3. Serve as an active member of at least 1 committee.
  4. Responsibly review and act upon committee recommendations brought to the board for action.
  5. Prepare in advance for decision making and policy formation at board meetings, take responsibility for self-education on the major issues before the board.
  6. Participate in the annual board of director self-review process.
  7. Participate in the annual board development and planning retreat.
  8. In general, utilize personal and professional skills, relationships and knowledge for the advancement of the school.

 If interested, please contact the front office or Clarissa Burklund for more information.